Compelo Packaging - Latest industry news and analysis is using cookies

ContinueLearn More

Who won the Designer, Brand & Agency of the Year awards?

Who won the Designer, Brand & Agency of the Year awards?

Who won the Designer, Brand & Agency of the Year awards?

The 2017 Pentawards gala ceremony was just over 4 weeks ago, here is a quick recap of the winners taking the top accolades.

Designer Of The Year – Bruce Duckworth, Turner Duckworth

The transatlantic, packaging design heavyweights; Turner Duckworth, are no strangers to global, award-winning recognition. With a wealth of Pentaward winning designs and work with the likes of Coca-Cola, Burger King and Amazon, they really are an organisation to be applauded.

Founded in 1992 by the San Francisco based, David Turner and the London based, Bruce Duckworth, the two joined forces to create the independent titan that is Turner Duckworth. The design industry has been in awe since its birth, with ever evolving visual identity and a real knack for conceptualising timeless brand packaging.

With an introduction like that, it is no surprise that Bruce Duckworth was the recipient of the 2017 Designer of the Year award, for his contribution to the global packaging community, at this year’s Pentawards gala ceremony in Barcelona. 

This isn’t the first time Turner Duckworth have received one of the highest levels of recognition for their work from the Pentawards. In 2012 the design house received the best of the show for its work with Diet Coke. In 2009, Turner Duckworth won the first ever Agency of The Year award from the Pentawards. As an agency they have been awarded over 50 individual Pentawards.

Brand Of The Year – Heineken 

In the last six years brands including Coca-Cola, Veuve Clicquot, Absolute Vodka, Milka and Johnie Walker have been awarded the Brand of the Year Pentaward. This year it comes with great pleasure to award the 2017 Brand of the Year to Heineken.

The Heineken brand is one of huge stature on the stage of global brands and has come a long way since its first brewery was established 144 years ago in Amsterdam. The creative nature of the brand is what has contributed to its huge success in becoming the world’s most valuable premium beer brand. Strategic investments and key partnerships with large online platforms has given Heineken direct access to a new breed of exciting thirsty consumers. The innovative ethos that has lead the marketing direction is reflective in the design of the Heineken products.

President of The Jury’s Agency of The Year – Mousegraphics

The special prize of the 2017 Pentawards Jury's President (Brigitte Evrard) was presented this year to Mousegraphics.

The Founder and Creative Director, Greg Tsaknakis received the Designer of the Year award in 2016, therefore it comes as no surprise that his agency, Mousegraphics has won the President of the Jury’s Agency of the Year Award 2017.

Mousegraphics were established in 1984 and have asserted themselves as innovators of the industry year upon year since. They prioritise communication in their relationships with clients and demand complete trust in exchange for their endless commitment and genuine work ethic to achieve the true potential of a project. The bespoke tailored service strategy that has been instilled in to the organisation has helped them achieve a very healthy client list as well as an impressive awards list.

Brigitte Evrard explains her choice: "The creative work of Mousegraphics is impressive, outstanding, surprising, year after year. They invent new codes in the packaging industry, mostly based on: Creativity, Simplicity and Precision".

Mousegraphics has proven that good packaging is just a single idea, deleting unnecessary information, and skillfully express the key elements of the products.

Their ability to work for major brands as well as for local brands show their capacity to understand and translate a client’s briefing into a successful design.


The 11th edition of the Pentawards in figures.

This eleventh edition of the Pentawards received 2,013 entries from 5 continents and 54 countries. This shows an increase of nearly 10% in entries from the previous year.

In addition to the Diamond Pentaward and the 5 Platinum Pentawards, the international jury also awarded 46 Gold Pentawards across the 55 categories competing this year. In total, 32 countries are represented amongst the winners.

You can view all of the winners here: