Compelo Energy is using cookies

We use them to give you the best experience. If you continue using our website, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website.

ContinueLearn More

Table 1: Kenyan hydro schemes

Scheme Location Turbines Generating capacity Year completed
Gogo Rongo District. 2 x 1MW Kaplan 2MW 1957
Gitaru Seven Forks Cascade 2 x 72.5MW and 1 x 81.5MW 226.5MW 1978, 1999
Kamburu Seven Forks Cascade 3 x 31.4MW Francis 92.2MW 1974
Kindaruma Seven Forks Cascade 2 x 20MW Kaplan 40MW 1968
Kiambere Seven Forks Cascade 2 x 72MW 144MW 1988
Masinga Seven Forks Cascade 2 x 20MW Kaplan 40MW 1981
Mesco Murang’a North District, Maragua river 1 x 380kW 380kW 1930s.
Ndula Thika District 2 x 1MW Francis 2MW 1924
Sagana Nyeri District 3 x 500kW Francis 1.5MW 1956
Tana Murang’a South District 2 vertical and 3 horizontal Francis 14.4MW 1932-54
Turkwel Turkana, West Pokot and Pokot North districts n/a 106MW 1991
Wanjii Murang’a South District 4 x 1.85MW horizontal Francis turbines 7.4MW 1954
Sosiani River Sosiani 2 x 200kW horizontal Pelton Wheel 400kW 1955
Total 676.78MW